Forgot your password?

Back to login

European Parliament approves visa-free travel for Georgian citizens
February 5, 2017, 4:52 pm

On 2 February, 2017 - The European Parliament (EP) voted in favor of visa-free travel for Georgian citizens to the Schengen Area at a plenary session. Holders of Georgian biometric passports will now be able to enter the Schengen Area for 90 days within any 180-day period for holiday, business and other purposes except for that of working.

The visa waiver applies to the Schengen Area, which includes 22 EU member states (all except Ireland, the United Kingdom, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and Bulgaria) in addition to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

The EU-Georgia visa liberalization dialogue began back in 2012 when the EU Commission ruled that Georgia had satisfactorily fulfilled eligibility requirements.

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery