Forgot your password?

Back to login

Shiites lose as Islamists, tribes, liberals gain seats
July 28, 2013, 10:48 am
Shiites emerged the main losers in the National Assembly elections yesterday as they won only eight seats down from as many as 17 in the scrapped Assembly elected last December. The Shiites won five seats in the First Constituency which is their main stronghold and one seat each in the Second, Third and Fifth constituencies. Their main losers include former MPs Ahmad Lari and Adnan Al-Mutawa in addition to members in the scrapped Assembly Abdulhameed Dashti and Khaled Al-Shatti.
The main winners however were the small tribes which normally were marginalized like the Sulaibi, Suhool, Oteibis, Enezi and others. Liberal also won several seats with Marzouk Al-Ghanem, Rakan Al-Nasef and Faisal Al-Shaye scoring good wins. Sunni Islamists also improved on their strength winning around 10 seats compared to around five in the scrapped Assembly. Official Salafists maintained their strength of two seats.
Opposition members who were with the opposition and boycotted last December polls but took part in this election like Abdullah Al-Turaiji and Riyadh Al-Adasani won seats but veteran former MP Abdullah Al-Roumi lost. As the paper went to press and with a small part of the votes not counted, turnover was around 60 percent, 20 percent higher than the previous election in December.
The high turnover came despite calls by opposition for boycott, the scorching heat and fasting in the holy month of Ramadan. The main increase in voting came from tribal areas as tribesmen thronged onto polling stations to ensure the success of their tribesí candidates.
This is the provisional results as of 1 am on today. The final results will be announced later.
Winners as until 1.30 after midnight:
First constituency:
Adnan Abdulsamad
Faisal Al-Duwaisan
Youssef Al-Zalzalah
Issa Al-Kundari
Mubarak Al-Harees
Saleh Ashour
Abdullah Al-Turaiji
Kamel Al-Awadhi
Mohammad Al-Azemi
Maasouma Al-Mubarak
Second Constituency
Marzouk Al-Ghanem
Riyadh Al-Adasani
Rakan Al-Nassef
Adel Al-Khorafi
Ali Al-Rashed
Hamad Al-Harshani
Awdah Al-Ruwaiei
Khalaf Dumaitheer
Abdulrahman Al-Jeeran
Khalil Al-Saleh
Third Constituency
Ali Al-Omair
Khalil Abul
Faisal Al-Shaye
Roudhan Al-Roudhan
Jamal Al-Omar
Safa Al-Hashem
and the race between the following was undecided:
Yacoub Al-Sane
Nabil Al-Fadhl
Abdulkareem Al-Kundari
Osama Al-Tahous
Abdullah Al-Mayouf
Mohammad Al-jabri
Fourth Constituency
Sultan Al-Shimmari
Saud Al-Huraiji
Saad Al-Khanfour
Askar Al-Enezi
Mansour Al-Dhafeeri
Mohammad Tana Al-Enezi
Majed Al-Mutairi
Hussein Al-Mutairi
Mubarak Al-Khurainej
and the last seat was not decided between Abdullah Al-Odwani and Mohammad Al-Rasheedi
Fifth Constituency
Abdullah Al-Tameemi
Madhi Al-Hajeri
Faisal Al-Kundari
Talal Al-Jalal
Mohammad Al-Huwailah
Hamdan Al-Azemi
Saif Al-Azemi
Saadoun Hammad
Humoud Al-Hamdan
Jaber Al-Azemi
Source - Kuwait Times
Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery