ICSK emerges champions at 20th CBSE cluster athletic meet

The 20th CBSE Kuwait Cluster Athletic Meet organized by the Indian Community School, Kuwait (ICSK), was held at the Amateur Athletic Federation Stadium, Khaifan from 21 to 23 October. The sports meet saw participation from athletic teams representing 14 schools, with 537 athletes jockeying for top positions in 66 track and field events.

The invincible athletes of ICSK lifted the overall championship trophy for the record 17th time with an incredible performance at the meet. The ICSK team emerged winners with a total of 350 points and with a huge margin of 82 points over the runners-up team.  The Gulf Indian School bagged the Second Position with 268 points and the United Indian School secured the Third Position with 213 points.

The ICSK champions secured 22 gold medals, 16 silver medals, 6 bronze medals in a total of 66 events that were held as part of the CBSE Athletics meet. A new meet record was set at the CBSE Kuwait Cluster Meet by the ICSK athletes – Archana Srinivas, Abigail Mary Yang, Audrrey Lewis, Omaira Farahan and Abigail Fernandes in U-17 Girls 4×100 meters relay.

The ICSK team also clinched 3 Individual Championships in the Girls Categories; Under 14-Desha Shenoy, Under 17- Abigail Mary Yang, and Under 19 – Dinah Stephen.

The inaugural Ceremony, held on 21 October, was attended by the presence of Chief Guest Shyamala Divakaran, Principal-Gulf Indian School, who was accompanied by the Principals of various CBSE schools in Kuwait- Arul Dharmaraj, Principal, Integrated Indian School,  Leena, Principal, Kuwait India School,   T. Premkumar, Principal Indian Educational School, Kuwait,  R.Ajith Kumar, Principal, United Indian School, Kuwait and Baldwin Faife, Principal, Al Amal Indian School also graced the occasion.

The Kuwait Chapter Convener, Dr. V.Binumon, (Senior Administrator and Principal ICSK) declared the athletic meet open.

The three-day event saw the athletes compete in 66 events. The Valedictory Ceremony was graced by the presence of the Chief Guest- Mrs.Asha Sharma, Principal, Indian Learners Own Academy. In the lively closing ceremony, the winners were awarded trophies and certificates by the dignitaries including the Principals of various CBSE schools in Kuwait.

The unflinching support of the ICSK School Management, untiring efforts of the physical education teachers and the talent and hard work of the students has made this unparalleled achievement possible for the ICSK.